A Few Lip Glosses and a Lipstick – by Traci Drury

The majority of my makeup is from department stores because I can try the product before making the purchase.  Here are a few exceptions based on reviews I read (and I made sure to look at more than just one!  You can read my previous post about being honest and reviews here).  Beginning from top left:

Revlon‘s new Ultra HD Lip Lacquer in 540 Petalite, Rimmel‘s Stay Glossy lip gloss in I believe Red Carpet Glam (the name is not on the tube but is on their website), Revlon’s Ultra HD Lip Lacquer in 565 Sunstone, CoverGirl‘s Colorliscious lip gloss in 620 Candylicious, and Flower Beauty‘s Lip Service Lip Butter in LB1 Petal to the Metal.

wpid-img_20150412_162836.jpg

Revlon’s Ultra HD Lip Lacquer is very pigmented, wears well and doesn’t feel sticky.  This can be used by itself or over a lipstick that needs some moisture.  This has a brush applicator which grabs a lot of product but after a time or two I learned to apply it with a light hand. I don’t know if you can see it in the photo but the lid has a faux gemstone on the end. Love the packaging of these glosses. Bling and shine.

The Rimmel Stay Glossy is one of my favorite glosses.  It’s a red that can probably be worn by anyone.  The red is a soft color, not too bright.  The gloss is soft but wears well.

CoverGirl Colorlicious Lip Gloss has a sponge applicator also wears well and is soft, not sticky.  This gloss is a little more sheer (at least the color I have) and I love it over a lipstick (my lips are a darker color than the gloss color).

Flower Beauty was developed by Drew Barrymore (she is either the owner or co-owner) and the line can be found at WalMart.  They don’t pay for advertising so they can put their resources into the formulas and packaging (this is per their website).  So, now for the Lip Service Lip Butter review.  This product lives up to it’s name.  It feels buttery on your lips, has good pigment, wears well, and is moisturizing.  I will definitely purchase this product again.  The only disappointment:  I think their product packaging is pretty but the lid on my lipstick has a crack at the bottom.  I don’t want to give up this product so I’m just being careful when replacing the lid after use.

What lipsticks or lip glosses do you love?  Have you tried any Flower Beauty products and what do you think?  I’d love to hear from you!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.