Flower Beauty Lip Products – by Traci Drury

Surely I’m not the only one who rolls her eyes at a celebrity endorsed product or line.  So I didn’t give it much thought when I heard Drew Barrymore helped create a makeup line.  After some time and reading more about the brand, Flower Beauty, I was impressed and decided to try a few products myself (so far, I really like what I have).  The brand does not pay for advertisement but instead puts their resources into product formulas and packaging which keeps the price low.  The highest price point is $13.98 for a foundation, $12.98 for a (powder) brush, $24.97 for a fragrance and $18.98 for a train case (there are also smaller bags).  The products have fun names,can only be found at WalMart, have not been tested on animals, and are made in the USA!

wpid-img_20150614_115754.jpg   wpid-img_20150614_120551.jpg

Shine On Lip Gloss is light, somewhat sheer but buildable (I have LG3 Lovely Lotus) and doesn’t feel sticky.  It has a doe foot applicator that doesn’t dispense too much product.

Lip Service Lip Butter is soft and shiny (I tend to rub my lips together when wearing this because it feels good), leaves my lips soft and wears really well for a lip butter.  I have LB4 Princess and the Peony (the lighter pink), and LB1 Petal to the Metal (sadly it looks like this color was discontinued), the first doesn’t feel as buttery as the latter but is still nice.  I have found with this particular product that I have to be careful to put the lid back on correctly.  Mine are pretty tight and I’ve cracked a lid (it looks square, but the sides are not all the same size).

Kiss Stick Velvet Lip Color doesn’t feel like a creamy lipstick but more of a soft matte lipstick (it does have velvet in the name after all).  I have color LS20 Rosey Garden Velvet which leaves a light stain if not reapplied when it is wearing off.  I’m on the phone a lot during the day and drink a lot of tea (using a straw) which are both factors in how well the lipstick lasts.    Sometimes I use a gloss over the light stain and sometimes I just reapply.  This isn’t a long wear lipstick, but those tend to dry out my lips.  Usually with bright or dark colors I have an issue with bleeding, but not with this product.

Check out the Flower Beauty website where there is a good summary of their philosophy and media reviews.  I’m looking forward to trying more products and recommend you check them out as well!  Have you already tried a product from Flower Beauty?  Share your experience in the comments section!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.